What I learned from a young rapper. (NSFW)

E___ was talking about free-style.   It’s crazy how these guys can just rip off rhymes while someone is throwing out words off to the side; words the rapper has to incorporate into his thread.

That can’t be easy.   What is easy is thinking it’s easy.   Thinking it’s just something someone comes up with when they have a lot of time.   I’m not going into this here, but you might be able to see what I’m hinting at – this stuff is loaded with dismissal based on nothing more than racism.

Thing is, it actually does take talent.   Just reduce it to it’s raw constituents; you have to make rhymes with random words someone throws at you, on the fly.   Can YOU do it?   I can’t.   At least, I would have to practice until I could, but right now?   No way.   But then, I could, after all, couldn’t I?

Just like running or anything else in life..   a n y t h i n g  else in life!   A N Y T H I N G!

You CAN do it.   IF you are willing to start small and work your way up.   Might take you longer than someone with natural talent but you’re not competing with them, are you? You’re just working against yourself, one step at a time, until you get there.

So what did this young rapper teach me?   He taught me that I COULD free-style.   I might suck for a long time, but if I worked at it….?

This young kid taught me that.   And the point is, he was the ONLY one who COULD teach me that.   Why?   Because I would never in a million years think of myself as a free-style rapper.   It’s SO FAR OFF THE RESERVATION for me, that I would never consider it.

Seriously, I’m a red-headed white dude, old enough to be this guys dad with a push-broom moustache.    I’m the very anti-thesis of a free-style rapper on almost every level.   And even then, it still remains true – I could actually develop into a free-style rapper.

That OPTION is OPEN to me.   That path is OPEN to me.

Today, two times, two people told me what they couldn’t do.   Quickly followed by ‘WHY’.   Fuck your “Why’s”.   If a middle-aged white dude with a red moustache can free-style rap, you can ……X……

That’s what I learned from a young rapper.

Leave a Reply

