Change

Yesterday, the theme that seemed to keep coming up with me, through this blog, a podcast I listened to later and then a private message (pm) from a good friend – was that we should be willing to embrace what we want, in spite of the pain, distress or discomfort it causes us. In that sense, a couple of days ago we talked about “legitimate discomfort” and not trying to reflexively escape it.   Don’t dull, don’t escape but be with it and learn how to deal with it and thus, increase your emotional maturity.

Change the system sketched on a chalkboard

Today, let’s talk about ‘change’.   Yesterday, I spent an inordinate amount of time working on a two-month video project and the point where I keep getting stuck is with music rights.   I’m not going to go into the details, but suffice it to say that I’ve been beating my head against a brick wall trying to figure this out.   Finally, yesterday, I searched a new angle and have found acceptable if not outright good music to use with attribution.   I also found a promising avenue I hadn’t considered before that can lead to still more music for my projects.  Simply, I changed the direction of my project and began making progress again.

That’s important, so listen up.   If what you are doing isn’t working and you feel stuck and you’re not going anywhere, much less going toward your goals in life, maybe it’s time to shift your focus or find a new angle – change the road you’re on. It sounds so simple, it’s almost a cliché, but it’s true.   Don’t change the goal, change the process, change the method, change the attitude, change the job, the mindset, the company you keep, the books you read, the food you eat.. change it.

When we keep doing the same things and getting the same results, we need to stop and ask ourselves, “How is that working out for you?”.  If everything keeps us paralyzed in our personal lives or our professional lives, our social lives, have the courage to say so – and consciously change it.

 

Leave a Reply

