The parable of the Peach!

Not everyone is going to like me.  Some people will not be able to let go of some flaw they see in my character or there will just be something about me that really grinds their gears, or just doesn’t work for them.  That’s fine. 

It really is fine.  

I like myself and everyone has a right to their ideas and thoughts.  I can’t control that.  I don’t want to control it.  It isn’t that I don’t want to win them over or please them – to what ends have I gone to please someone else?  It doesn’t work because it would mean I would have to stop being authentically me. If I’m a jerk, I need to own it and fix it, but that is t what I’m talking about here. 

And no!  I’m not done being a people-pleaser.   I’m working on it, right now, here in these words and thoughts.  

But what about peaches.  If I had the most perfect peach, with just the right juicy ripeness and flavor; golden, orange, red and hints of purple, even if it was the best peach ever grown, there will be someone who doesn’t like peaches.  It won’t matter what color it is, how sweet it is or anything at all – someone will have a reason to dislike that peach.   There always be someone. 

And that’s ok. 
This isn’t directed at anyone specifically.  Thoughts after listening to Brooke Castillo podcast on “Rejection”

Leave a Reply

